Resources

Organizations and Online Resources

Bikeworks www.bikeworks.org
Catalyst Project  Anti-Racism for Global Justice: Reader www.collectiveliberation.org
Challenging White Supremacy Workshop  www.cwsworkshop.org
Class Action  www.classism.org
Co-housing www.cohousing.org
Dismantling Racism Works  www.dismantlingracism.org
Economic Policy Institute   www.epi.org
EdChange www.edchange.org
Family Independence Initiative www.fii.org/
Farm to School www.farmtoschool.org
Freecycle www.freecycle.org
Green America www.greenamerica.org
Growing Food and Justice for All Initiative   www.growingfoodandjustice.org
Inequality.org  www.inequality.org
Kids Can Make a Difference   www.kidscanmakeadifference.org
Migrant Justice www.migrantjustice.net
New Dream www.newdream.org
United for a Fair Economy www.faireconomy.org
Poverty & Race Research Action Council www.prrac.org
Race Forward: The Center for Racial Justice Innovation www.raceforward.org
Resource Generation
www.resourcegeneration.org
Rethinking Schools www.rethinkingschools.org
Teaching Tolerance www.tolerance.org
Time Trade www.brattleborotimetrade.org
Vermont Workers Center  www.workerscenter.org
YES! Magazine on the new economy www.yesmagazine.org/new-economy
Fair Economy www.faireconomy.org
Center for Popular Economics www.populareconomics.org
Western States Center  Dismantling Racism: A Resource Guide www.westernstatescenter.org
New Economy Center www.neweconomy.net

Allan G. Johnson – Why is there poverty? 
Asset Based Community Development http://www.abcdinstitute.org/
Guaranteed Income in Alaska

homelessimageBooks

Baptist, Willie and Jan Rehmann. Pedagogy of the Poor: Building the Movement to End Poverty.
Collins, Chuck and Felice Yeskel. Economic Apartheid in America: A Primer on Economic Inequality & Insecurity.
Ehrenreich, Barbara. Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting by in America.
Hernandez, Daisy & Bushra Rehman (eds.) Colonize This! Young Women of Color on Today’s Feminism.
hooks, bell. killing rage, ending racism.
hooks, bell. where we stand: why class matters.
Gilbert, David. No Surrender: Writings from an Anti-Racist Political Prisoner.
INCITE! Women of Color Against Violence (eds.) The Revolution Will Not Be Funded: Beyond the Non-Profit Industrial Complex.
Jensen, Robert. The Heart of Whiteness.
Kivel, Paul. Uprooting Racism: How White People Can Work for Racial Justice.
Kozol, Jonathan. Savage Inequalities: Children in America’s Schools.
McIntosh, Peggy. White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack.
Okun, Tema. White Supremacy Culture. 
Payne, Charles M. I’ve Got the Light of Freedom.
POWER. Towards Land, Work & Power.
Segrest, Mab. Memoirs of a Race Traitor.
Shakur, Assata. Assata: An Autobiorgraphy.
Smith, Chip. The Cost of Privilege: Taking on the Systems of White Supremacy.
Tatum, Beverly.  Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together at the Cafeteria?
Wise, Tim. White Like Me: Reflections on Race from a Privileged Son.
Zinn, Howard. The People’s History of the United States. and You Can’t Be Neutral on a Moving Train

Movies and Film Clips

The Bluest Eye.
Mirrors of Whiteness.
Race: the Power of an Illusion.
Out: The Making of a Revolutionary.
The Color of Fear. Directed by Lee Mun Wah. (1994)
Last Chance for Eden. Directed by Lee Mun Wah (2003)
Poverty tour – PBS
Crises of Capitalism
Story of Solutions
Unnatural Causes – PBS series about how inequality affects health
Welfare for Corporations